top of page

ITA Announces 2024 Women’s Hall of Fame Induction Class

TEMPE, AZ – The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) is proud to announce the 2024 ITA Women’s Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame induction class. This class celebrates Louise Allen and Shelley Keeler Whelan for their contributions as players, and Jan Brogan and John Peterson for their contributions as coaches.

“College tennis has an unbelievable history, and the ITA Halls of Fame continue to preserve and celebrate this history,” said ITA CEO, Timothy Russell. “The biennial induction ceremonies in Williamsburg, Virginia, at The College of William and Mary, the home of the ITA Women’s Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame, are always a high point in the life of our sport and Association.”

“The induction of these four outstanding individuals carries on the Hall of Fame’s tradition of recognizing the best of the best in our sport,” said ITA Women’s Hall of Fame Curator Tyler Thomson. “We look forward to honoring them, celebrating their accomplishments with family and friends, and cementing their legacy for generations to come.”

The 2024 ITA Women’s Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame Induction will take place in Williamsburg, Virginia on the campus of The College of William & Mary. The ceremony will be held on Saturday, October 5th 2024. Those interested in attending may fill out the registration form below or contact Jenna Kane, ITA Hall of Fame Manager (


Louise Allen, Trinity (1981-1984) – As a standout on the Trinity University women’s tennis team, Louise Allen was a four-time All-American and the 1983 NCAA Division I Women’s Doubles champion as a junior at Trinity. That same year, Allen captured the 1983 Pan American Games Women’s Doubles title and was the recipient of the Broderick Award, now known as the Honda Sports Award. This award is given annually to the nation’s best collegiate women’s tennis player. By the time of graduation, Allen had compiled a singles record of 115-11 and had never lost a match at home in singles or doubles.

Following her time at Trinity, Allen took her talents to the professional tour, reaching a career high world ranking of No. 62 while competing in a combined 27 grand slam events. In 1992, Allen was nominated for the WTA Comeback Player of the Year following her battle back from several injuries. Allen is a member of the North Carolina Tennis Hall of Fame and Trinity Athletics Hall of Fame. Today, Allen is the Chief Product Officer of Planview, a software company based in Austin, Texas.

Shelley Keeler Whelan, Pomona College (1988-1992) – During her time at Pomona College, Whelan left an impressive stamp on the women’s tennis program. In 1990, 1991, and 1992, Whelan dominated the doubles scene, being crowned the NCAA Division III Doubles National Champion three straight years. During her final season, Whelan also captured the NCAA DIII singles title. Whelan was awarded the Pomona-Pitzer Major Award in 1991, an honor earned by athletes who have contributed the most to his or her intercollegiate program. Whelan is also a recipient of the NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Most Outstanding Student-Athlete Award and was inducted into the Pomona-Pitzer Hall of Fame in 2002.

For the past 16 years, Whelan has managed a multigenerational family office that invests in businesses and real estate in the Pacific Northwest. She has served as a board member of various organizations including the Girl Scouts of Western Washington, the Alliance of Angels, and the Northwest Entrepreneur Network.


Jan Brogan, UC Berkeley (1978-2007) – A legendary figure in the women’s tennis world, Jan Brogan left a legacy comparable to none. As the Cal Women’s Tennis coach from 1978 to 2007, Brogan compiled a 539-223 (.707) dual-match record, making her just the fourth Cal coach to reach the 500-win plateau while also making her the winningest coach in Cal tennis history upon her retirement. Under her direction, the Golden Bears made 26 consecutive appearances in the NCAA tournament and had 19 top-ten finishes since 1982.

Brogan’s dedication to excellence earned her the 1990 Wilson ITA National Coach of the Year award, ITA Northwest Region Coach of the Year honors in 1988, 1991, 1993, and 2007, and conference coach of the year eight times during her career 1982-87, 1992, and 1994. Brogan has been a member of the ITA Board of Directors, ITA Operating Committee, NCAA Championship Tennis Committee, and the Chair of the ITA Sport Science Committee.

In 1998, Brogan completed a M.A. in Sports Psychology from John F. Kennedy University. As a result of her dedication to lifelong learning and a desire to share her knowledge of sport psychology techniques, Brogan taught applied sports psychology and life skills classes for student-athletes at Cal.

John Peterson, Tyler Junior College (1987-2011) – During his 24-year tenure as the head men’s and women’s coach at Tyler Junior College, Peterson won a combined 25 national championships (12 men’s, 13 women’s) and amassed a total career record of 828-189 (.814). Peterson served as the Tyler Junior College Athletic Director from 1995-2000 and also served on the ITA Board as a Junior College representative. Peterson is a member of the NJCAA Men’s Tennis Hall of Fame, the NJCAA Women’s Tennis Hall of Fame, and is a 2007 inductee of the Texas Tennis Coaches Hall of Fame. In 2000, the ITA named Coach Peterson the Junior College National Coach of the Decade, the only coach named Coach of the Decade in both the men’s and women’s division.

Prior to coaching the men’s and women’s tennis programs at Tyler, Peterson taught physical education and coached football, track, and eventually tennis at the middle and high school levels. Peterson attributes his success to his wife, kids and grandchildren.

About the ITA Women’s Collegiate Hall of Fame – The ITA Women’s Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame, founded in 1995, was created to celebrate the milestones in women’s collegiate tennis, from the early struggles for recognition to the achievement of full-fledged intercollegiate competition. The Women’s Hall of Fame is operated by The College of William & Mary and is housed in the McCormack-Nagelsen Tennis Center on the William & Mary campus. Since 1995, over 80 players, coaches and contributors have been inducted. Players are eligible for election to the Hall of Fame 10 years after the conclusion of their collegiate career. Coaches are eligible immediately following retirement. The main criteria for election are college accomplishments and honors earned after college.

About the ITA – The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) is the governing body and coaches association of college tennis, both an advocate and an authority for the sport and its members. Comprised of 1,260 colleges and universities, 20,000 student-athletes, 1,700 varsity programs, 3,000 coaches, and 1,350 college tennis officials, the ITA empowers college tennis coaches at all levels to deliver vibrant tennis programs that are vital to their college communities and transformational to their student-athletes. Follow the 2023-24 college tennis season on the ITA website and ITA social channels on Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn, Facebook, and YouTube.

8 views0 comments


bottom of page