About Us

We are the ITA

The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (formerly the Intercollegiate Tennis Coaches Association) was founded in 1956 by J.D. Morgan, UCLA men’s tennis coach and athletic director.

Under the leadership of Executive Director David A. Benjamin, the ITA has grown to include almost 1,500 head and assistant coaches of men’s and women’s tennis programs from NCAA Divisions I, II, III, NAIA and Junior Colleges, as well as 15,000 student-athletes from more than 1,300 collegiate tennis programs. In addition, the ITA welcomes parent, junior, associate and corporate sponsors.

Through generous corporate support from sponsors, particularly from Rolex Watch U.S.A., the ITA is able to administer the ITA Collegiate Grand Slam (four national tournaments held on three different surfaces), a comprehensive collegiate ranking system, as well as an extensive awards program for coaches, players and other leaders in collegiate tennis.

In addition to the Women’s Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame at William and Mary, the ITA also has established the Men’s Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame at the University of Georgia. Since its inaugural year in 1983 the ITA Men’s Hall of Fame has inducted more than 100 celebrated tennis players, including Arthur Ashe, Stan Smith and Jimmy Connors.

The ITA is headquartered in Tempe, Arizona.

The Team

The People of the ITA

Tyler Thomson
Fill in
Fill in