top of page

Margaret 'Peggy' Michel

Arizona State University


Among the finest players in intercollegiate competition, Peggy Michel (b.1949) went on to international success as a professional. Learning tennis on the public courts of Southern California, Michel entered Arizona State Univeristy in 1968 and was a collegiate singles and doubles finalist in her freshman year. Under Hall of Fame coach Anne Pittman, she helped lead the Sun Devils team to national titles in 1971 and 1972, and captured the doubles title both years.

Turning pro after graduation, Michel traveled to Australia where coach Vic Edwards paired her with his longtime student, Evonne Goolagong. The Michel-Goolagong duo took the world by storm, winning three Grand Slam events and heading up a championship Pittsburgh Triangles team in World Team Tennis. Staying in the game ever since, Michel coached the U.S. Young Cup senior team to four straight international victories from 1995-1998.

Career Highlights
    U.S. Collegiate Doubles Champion 1971, 1972
    U.S. Collegiate Singles Finalist 1968, 1971; Doubles Finalist 1968
    Team Member, U.S. Collegiate Championship Team, Arizona State University 1971, 1972
    Canadian Doubles Champion 1974, Finalist 1969
    Wimbledon Doubles Champion 1974, Finalist 1969
    Australian Doubles Champion 1974, 1975
    Queensland Lawn Tennis Open Doubles Champion 1974-1975
    New Zealand Hard Court Doubles Champion 1974-1975
    Australian Hard Court Doubles Champion 1974-1975
    New South Wales Hard Court Doubles Champion 1974-1975
    Western Austrlaian Doubles Champion 1974-1975
    Team Member, Pittsburgh Triangles, World Team Tennis 1974-1975; Championship Winners 1975
    Team Captain, USTA Young Cup Team 1995-1998 (international competition for women 40 and over); Championship Winners 1995-1998
    B.A.’72 Arizona State University (Education)
    Inducted into the Arizona State University Sun Devils Hall of Fame 1975
    Outstanding Female Athlete, Dapper Dan Award, Pittsburgh 1975
    Twila Chilcott Memorial Volunteer of the Year Award, Cystic Fibrosis Foundation of Western Pennsylvania 1974
Other 1998 Inductees
bottom of page