top of page

Eve F. Kraft

Antioch College


Eve Kraft (b.1926), a lifelong champion of recreational tennis, introduced thousands of young people to the rewards and challenges of the game. Kraft developed her own love of tennis as a ‘street kid’ in Philadelphia and, after graduating from Antioch College and working as a journalist, she began a model community tennis program for families in Princeton, New Jersey.

In the years following, Kraft took her cause to the national level, writing the highly successful Tennis Workbook instructional series, founding and directing the USTA’s Center for Education and Recreational Tennis, and consulting with such sports organizations as the President’s Council on Physical Fitness and Sports. Among many honors, this ‘grande dame of grassroots tennis’ received the USTA/Middle States Tennis Association’s highest honor, the Mangan Award, in 1990.

Career Highlights
    Founder and director, Princeton Community Tennis Program 1955-1981
    USTA/MSTA Family of the Year Award 1966
    Chair, USTA/American Association for Health, Physical Education and Recreation Joint Committee on Tennis 1970-1971
    Co-founder anad director, USTA Tennis Teachers’ Conference 1971-1989
    Founder and director, USTA Center for Education and Recreational Tennis 1972-1989
    First women’s varsity tennis coach Princeton University 1971-1974
    USTA Educational Merit Award 1972 (first woman recipient)
    Consultant to the President’s Council on Physical Fitness and Sports 1972-1988
    National Parks and Recreation Award for Volunteer Service 1975
    Delegate, White House Conference on Aging 1981
    Author of the The Tennis Workbook series, The Tennis Teacher’s Guide to Group Instruction and numerous other publications
    Named by Tennis magazine in 1985 as one of the 20 most influential people in tennis
    Development advisor, International Tennis Federation 1987-1994
    USTA/MSTA Mangan Award 1990
    Inaugural member of the USTA/MSTA Hall of Fame 1994
    USPTA Presidential Lifetime Achievement Award 1996
Other 1996 Inductees
bottom of page